AFRICAN DREAM

Oboman: Oboe d'Amore, English Horn, Bass Clarinet

Lulendo: Voice, Quissange

XD Navarre: Percussions, Voice & Electronics

Share the excitement of a fantastic expedition in the imagination of three fabulous musicians: the ancestral dreams of Lulendo, singer with four languages ​​and Angolan griot, the joyful inventions of Oboman, storyteller with beautiful oboe singing and the contagious jubilation of Navarre , bulimic percussionist.

Lulendo gives Quissange (touch piano) its acclaim by shaping its own instruments in wood and precious metals.

With audacity and energy, Oboman breathes a new sound into the oboe and the English horn, favorite instruments at the Grande Ecurie du Roy.

The combination of an African voice and an emblematic instrument of European musical culture is a perfect illustration of the desire and the pleasure of exchanging and sharing memories.

All that was missing was Xavier Desandre Navarre, a percussionnist of an amazing diversity and originality to unite the stories of this amazing trio. The result is simply incredible: is it traditional music, Jazz, or electro?

None of this, and maybe all of it at once ? Playing outside the Box !

The impressions of an imaginary journey

This trio was born from a meeting between Lulendo, Angolan singer and griot and Oboman, oboist improviser. Lulendo wants to give the touch piano, otherwise known as Sanza or Quissange (named after a valley in northern Angola, close to the Congo), its letters of nobility. To make his own Sanzas, Lulendo learned to work with wood and metal on the precious advice of a great Parisian luthier.

 

The association of an African voice, Quissange, and oboe / English horn is in itself a symbol ; symbol of exchange and sharing with respect for cultures, African and traditional for the singer ; classic and European for the oboe. Only the percussions of the world were missing! Those by Xavier Desandre Navarre, of incredible diversity and originality, including in his "Electro" touch which further enriches the sound of the trio. The result is simply incredible, in the sense of "never heard". Is it traditional music, World music, Jazz, electro? None of this… and yet all of it at the same time ! Let’s dare Free-style !

 

A freedom drawn from improvisation, great spontaneity and mutual listening to share without moderation ...

Lulendo was born in Maquela do Zombo, Angola; he started singing in churches. His passion for the Likémbé came in contact with the traditional musicians of his region of birth, the likembé which will become his favorite instrument. He began his artistic career as a chorister (stages and studios).

 

He quickly released his first album as a leader: "Who benefits from crime?". "Angola", the second album was released in 2005 and paid homage to her country. "Soul of Africa", his third studio album, is a true artistic turn, an anchoring in the sources and a highlight of his multiple cultural heritages. A vibrant tribute to its ancestors, "Soul of Africa" ​​is above all a message of wisdom and optimism. LULENDO sings in 4 languages ​​and whatever it is he uses, the emotion is always there. He thus sings in turn in kikongo, his language of birth; in Lingala (the language of the Congo), Portuguese the official language of Angola, and of course in French. LULENDO chooses the language of its songs according to its inspiration, but also of the rhythms of the melody and the theme, which determine it naturally

Xavier Desandre Navarre began his career with Laurent Cugny, in the Big Band Lumière for a European tour with Gil Evans2. In 1991, he joined the National Jazz Orchestra conducted by Denis Badault. He participated in the recording of more than 150 CDs. The latest is the CD he recorded with the Korean singer Youn Sun Nah, dedicated best jazz album in 2010.

Xavier Desandre Navarre develops a very particular musical identity by the eclecticism of the rhythms played and harmonized with his voice. Throughout his career, we will see him guest of the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, but also alongside Les Rita Mitsouko, Michel Jonasz, Manu Dibango, Yaron Herman, David Sanborn, Bireli Lagrène or John Scofield, Michel Portal, Didier Lockwood and Stefano di Battista. He is particularly appreciated by Scandinavian musicians with whom he multiplies projects. In this context, we will see him alongside guitarist Ulf Wakenius, Niels Lan Doky, Lars Danielsson but also singer Caecillie Norby. As at ease in intimate jazz as in the excess of electro, he performed in 2011 at the Salle Pleyel, in Paris, alongside Laurent Garnier. He performed at UNESCO in 2010 with a project called Story of Earth and Water or at the Lyon Opera in the summer of 2012, where he will present his solo project Beat Body & Soul6.

Association n ° 09/41212152 - Siret 434 921 513 000 10 - APE 923 A
Show Producer License 2 n ° 2-1021523 beginning validity 13/12/2008
President of the association: Mr. Bruno Magri
Headquarters: 171, route de Marolles - 78670 Villennes / Seine

Writing: Webmaster
Translation: Rachel Hirel
For all suggestions, information, reactions concerning this site, write to: adlib@jeanlucfillon.com For all the texts and works presented on this site: Copyright Ad Lib Production 2020 All copyright of works reserved. Unless express prior written authorization, the reproduction and any use of the works other than individual and private consultation is prohibited. Any request for authorization for any use whatsoever must be sent to: adlib@jeanlucfillon.com

Photo credits: Michèle Belletti / Malik Chaïb / Armand Luciani / Lusimagem.com / Patrick Audoux / Alain d'Ortoli

Video credits: Guy Cosson / Jean-Yves Legrand / Pirouette Film / Eddy Woj

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Gris Icône Deezer
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Gris SoundCloud Icône
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

AFRICAN DREAM

Oboman : Hautbois d'amour, Cor Anglais, Clarinette basse

Lulendo : Voix, Quissange

X.D. Navarre : Percussions, Voix & Electronics

Partagez l’émoi d’une fantastique expédition dans l’imaginaire de trois fabuleux musiciens : les songes ancestraux de Lulendo, chanteur aux quatre langues et griot angolais, les inventions joyeuses d’Oboman, conteur au bel hautbois chantant et la contagieuse jubilation de Navarre, percussionniste boulimique.

 

Lulendo donne au Quissange (piano à touche) ses lettres de noblesse en façonnant ses propres instruments dans des bois et métaux précieux.

Avec audace et énergie, Oboman insuffle un son nouveau au hautbois et au cor anglais, instruments fétiches à la Grande Ecurie du Roy.

 

L’association d’une voix d’Afrique et d’un instrument emblématique de la culture musicale européenne illustre à merveille l’envie et le plaisir de l’échange et du partage des mémoires.

Ne manquait plus que Xavier Desandre Navarre, percussionniste d’une étonnante diversité et originalité pour unir les récits de cet étonnant trio. Le résultat est tout simplement inouï : est-ce de la musique traditionnelle, du Jazz, ou de l’électro ?

Rien de tout cela, et peut-être tout cela à la fois ?

Vive le Hors Champ !

Les impressions d’un voyage imaginaire 

 

Ce trio est né d’une rencontre entre Lulendo, chanteur et griot Angolais et Oboman, hautboïste improvisateur. Lulendo souhaite donner au piano à touche, autrement appelé Sanza ou Quissange (du nom d’une vallée du Nord de l’Angola, proche du Congo), ses lettres de noblesses. Ainsi, pour fabriquer ses propres Sanzas, Lulendo a appris à travailler le bois et le métal sur les précieux conseils d’un grand luthier parisien.

 

L’association d’une voix africaine, du Quissange, et du hautbois/cor anglais est en soit tout un symbole ; symbole d’échange et de partage dans le respect des cultures, Africaine et traditionnels pour le chanteur ; classiques et européennes pour le hautbois. Ne manquait plus que les percussions du monde ! Celles de Xavier Desandre Navarre, d’une incroyable diversité et originalité, y compris dans sa touche « Electro » qui enrichie encore le son du trio. Le résultat est tout simplement inouï, dans le sens de « jamais entendu ». Est-ce de la musique traditionnelle, des musiques du Monde, du Jazz, de l’électro ? Rien de tout cela… et pourtant tout cela à la fois ! Osons le Free-style !

Une liberté puisée dans l’improvisation, une grande spontanéité et une écoute mutuelle à partager sans modération…

Lulendo est Né à Maquela do Zombo, en Angola ; il a commencé le chant dans les églises. Sa passion pour le Likémbé est venu au contact avec les musiciens traditionnels de sa région de naissance, le likembé qui deviendra son instrument fétiche. Il commence sa carrière d'artiste en tant que choriste (scènes et studios).

Il sort rapidement son premier album en leader : "A qui profite le crime? ". "Angola", le second album sort en 2005 et rend hommage à son pays. "Soul of Africa", son troisième album studio, est un véritable virage artistique, un ancrage aux sources et une mise en lumière de ses multiples héritages culturels. Hommage vibrant à ses ancêtres, "Soul of Africa" est avant tout porteur d’un message de sagesse et d’optimisme. LULENDO chante en 4 langues et quelquesoit celle qu'il utilise, l'émotion est toujours au rendez-vous. Il chante ainsi tour à tour en kikongo, sa langue de naissance ; en lingala (la langue du Congo), le portugais la langue officielle d’Angola, et bien entendu en français. LULENDO choisit la langue de ses chansons en fonction de son inspiration, mais aussi des rythmes de la mélodie et du thème, qui la déterminent naturellement

Xavier Desandre Navarre commence sa carrière avec Laurent Cugny, au sein du Big Band Lumière pour une tournée européenne avec Gil Evans2. En 1991, il intègre l'Orchestre national de jazz dirigé par Denis Badault. Il participe à l'enregistrement de plus de 150 CDs. Le dernier en date est le cd qu'il enregistre avec la chanteuse coréenne Youn Sun Nah, consacré meilleur album jazz en 2010.

 

Xavier Desandre Navarre développe une identité musicale toute particulière par l'éclectisme des rythmes joués et harmonisés avec sa voix. Au fil de sa carrière, on le verra invité de l'Orchestre Symphonique de Tokyo, mais aussi aux côtés de Les Rita Mitsouko, Michel Jonasz, Manu Dibango, Yaron Herman, David Sanborn, Bireli Lagrène ou encore John Scofield, Michel Portal, Didier Lockwood et Stefano di Battista. Il est particulièrement apprécié des musiciens scandinaves avec lesquelles il multiplie les projets. Dans ce cadre, on le verra aux côtés du guitariste Ulf Wakenius, Niels Lan Doky, Lars Danielsson mais aussi de la chanteuse Caecillie Norby. Aussi à l'aise dans le jazz intimiste que dans la démesure de l'électro, il se produit en 2011 à la salle Pleyel, à Paris, aux côtés de Laurent Garnier. Il se produit à l'UNESCO en 2010 avec un projet intitulé Story of Earth and Water ou encore à l'Opéra de Lyon, à l'été 2012, où il présentera son projet solo Beat Body & Soul6.

Association n° 09/41212152 - Siret 434 921 513 000 10 - APE 923 A
Licence 2 de Producteur de Spectacles n° 2-1021523 début validité 13/12/2008
Président de l'association : M. Bruno Magri
Siège social : 171, route de Marolles - 78670 Villennes/Seine

Rédaction : Webmaster
Traduction : Rachel Hirel
Pour toutes suggestions, informations, réactions concernant ce site, écrivez à : adlib@jeanlucfillon.com Pour tous les textes et œuvres présentés sur ce site : Copyright Ad Lib Production 2020 Tous droits d'auteur des œuvres réservés. Sauf autorisation formelle écrite et préalable, la reproduction ainsi que toute utilisation des œuvres autres que la consultation individuelle et privée est interdite. Toute demande d'autorisation pour quelque utilisation que ce soit doit être adressée à : adlib@jeanlucfillon.com

Crédits photo : Michèle Belletti / Malik Chaïb / Armand Luciani / Lusimagem.com / Patrick Audoux / Alain d'Ortoli

Crédits vidéo : Guy Cosson / Jean-Yves Legrand / Pirouette Film / Eddy Woj

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Gris Icône Deezer
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Gris SoundCloud Icône
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon