top of page

OBOMAN plays Cole Porter

Chamber Jazz Trio

João Paulo: Piano

Frédéric Eymard: Viola

Oboman: Oboe, Oboe d'Amore & English Horn

 

Jazz Quintet

Bruno Rousselet: Bass

Karl Jannuska: Drums

João Paulo Esteves da Silva

was born in Lisbon in 1961, the year of the creation of Amnesty International ! At four, he took his first piano lessons and then studied piano and composition at the National Superior Conservatory of Lisbon where he obtained his higher piano diploma. In 1984, he obtained a scholarship from the ministry and moved to France where he studied at the National Conservatory of Rueil Malmaison. From 1987 to 1989, he gave numerous classical recitals (notably at Carnegie Hall and Cami Hall in New York).

Since the late seventies, when he became more and more involved in classical studies, he played in rock bands and was deeply interested in jazz and traditional folk music.

In 1995, he founded the group Almas e Danças and published the first album of his quartet "Serra sem Fim". He recorded numerous CDs with the American saxophonist Peter Epstein ("O Exilio" 1998, "Almas" 1999, "Esquina" 2000, "Nascer" 2001). In parallel to these projects, he undertook research on popular Portuguese music and was asked as an arranger and composer by many Portuguese-speaking artists. João Paulo patiently builds a work off the beaten track ...

In 2001, he released his first solo piano disc, "Roda, the Portuguese suites". That same year, he began a long collaboration with Jean-Luc Fillon with whom he recorded five records.

He performs regularly in different countries, mainly in France and Germany. He has worked with Peter Epstein, Carlos Bica, Ricardo Dias, Mário Franco, Jean-Luc Fillon, Carlo Rizzo, Cláudio Puntin, Samuel Rohrer, Michel Godard, Jarrod Cagwin, Dennis Gonzalez, David Binney and many more.

In recent years, he has devoted himself mainly to solo piano recitals. Currently, his other group projects are Nascer (improvisations on Portuguese music and Sephardic melodies), As Sete ilhas de Lisboa (improvised music) and Happening (with Carlos Bica, Júlio Resende and João Lobo).

He inscribes his music in the history of Portuguese culture. It can be alternately classical - influenced in this by romantic music, traditional - because its lyricism takes Portuguese and Sephardic accents - and jazz by an improvisation which is anchored by masters like Bud Powel, Bill Evans or Keith Jarrett.

Olivier Hutman started playing classical piano at the age of 5 and jazz while a student (PhD in Ethnology at the University of Paris VII under the direction of Jean Rouch on the urban music of Ghana) and quickly became a sought-after accompanist while his projects as a leader earned him several awards (Boris Vian Prize of the Jazz Academy '84).
Pianist composer and arranger in the fields of jazz, variety, theater and audiovisual:
He has composed more than 200 pieces of music for cinema and television and has collaborated with Bertrand Tavernier, Serge Moati and Jean-Paul Goude. He also accompanied many variety artists in his early days (Henri Salvador, Yves Duteil).
As a jazz pianist, he has worked with many artists including: Pepper Adams, Art Farmer, Clark Terry, James Moody, Michel Legrand, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Mark Murphy, Sheila Jordan, Stéphane Grappelli, Toots Thielemans, Gary Bartz, Junior Cook, Frank Wess, Clifford Jordan, Von Freeman, Steve Grossman, Tom Harrell, George Garzone, Ralph Moore, Roy Hargrove.
Olivier has recorded over 80 jazz albums as an accompanist or arranger and 10 under his own name.
He also teaches at the Centre des Musiques Didier Lockwood (CMDL), and gives master classes in France, Germany, Italy, China, Singapore, Malaysia.

Divided between classical and jazz, Frédéric Eymard completed his viola studies with a prize from the Conservatoire Supérieur de Paris. He then specialized in jazz and left for the United States, where he performed under various formations, notably during radio concerts in Seattle. Having joined Pierre Blanchard's string quintet, he was invited to the Banlieues Bleues festival, where he appeared alongside Ornette Coleman. Recorded with Laurent Cugny, Pat Metheny, Charlie Haden, Roy Hardgrove, Lucky Peterson, and Christian McBride, in the Abbey Lincoln CD "A turtle's dream.

bottom of page

OBOMAN plays Cole Porter

Chamber Jazz Trio

João Paulo ou Olivier Hutman : Piano

Frédéric Eymard : Violon alto

Oboman : Hautbois, Hautbois d'Amour & Cor Anglais

​​

Jazz Quintet

Bruno Rousselet : Contrebasse

Karl Jannuska : Batterie

João Paulo Esteves da Silva est né à Lisbonne en 1961, l’année de la création d’Amnesty International ! A quatre ans, il prend ses premières leçons de piano et étudie ensuite le piano et la composition au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Lisbonne où il obtient son diplôme supérieur de piano. En 1984, il obtient une bourse d’étude du ministère et part s'installer en France où il étudie au Conservatoire National de Région de Rueil Malmaison. De 1987 à 1989, il donne de nombreux récitals classiques (notamment au Carnegie Hall et au Cami Hall de New York).
Depuis la fin des années soixante dix, alors qu’il s’engage toujours davantage dans des études classiques, il joue dans des groupes rock et est profondément intéressé par le jazz et la musique folklorique traditionnelle.
En 1995, il fonde le groupe Almas e Danças et publie le premier album de son quartet « Serra sem Fim ». Il enregistre de nombreux CD avec le saxophoniste américain Peter Epstein (« O Exilio » 1998, « Almas » 1999, « Esquina » 2000, « Nascer » 2001). En parallèle à ces projets, il entreprend des recherches sur la musique populaire portugaise et est sollicité comme arrangeur et compositeur par de nombreux artistes lusophones. João Paulo construit patiemment une oeuvre hors des sentiers battus…
En 2001, il sort son premier disque en piano solo, « Roda, les suites portugaises ». Cette même année, il entame une longue collaboration avec Jean-Luc Fillon avec lequel il enregistre quatre disques.
Il se produit régulièrement dans différents pays, principalement en France et en Allemagne. Il a travaillé avec Peter Epstein, Carlos Bica, Ricardo Dias, Mário Franco, Jean-Luc Fillon, Carlo Rizzo, Cláudio Puntin, Samuel Rohrer, Michel Godard, Jarrod Cagwin, Dennis Gonzalez, David Binney et bien d’autres encore.
Ces dernières années, il se consacre principalement à des récitals en piano solo. Actuellement, ses autres projets de groupe sont Nascer (improvisations sur de la musique portugaise et des mélodies séfarades), As Sete ilhas de Lisboa (musiques improvisées) et Happening (avec Carlos Bica, Júlio Resende et João Lobo).
Il inscrit sa musique dans l’histoire de la culture portugaise. Elle peut être tour à tour classique -influencée en cela par la musique romantique-, traditionnelle -parce que son lyrisme prend des accents portugais et séfarade- et jazz par une improvisation qui s’ancre chez des maîtres comme Bud Powel, Bill Evans ou Keith Jarrett.

Olivier Hutman commence le piano classique à l’âge de 5 ans et le jazz alors qu’il était étudiant (Doctorat d’Ethnologie de l’Université Paris VII sous la direction de Jean Rouch sur les musiques urbaines du Ghana) et devient rapidement un accompagnateur recherché tandis que ces projets en leader lui valent plusieurs récompenses (Prix Boris Vian de l’Académie du Jazz ’84).

Pianiste compositeur et arrangeur dans les domaines du jazz, de la variété, du théâtre et de l’audiovisuel :

Il compose plus de 200 musiques pour le cinéma & la télévision et mène des collaborations avec Bertrand Tavernier, Serge Moati et Jean-Paul Goude. Il accompagne également de nombreux artistes de variétés à ses débuts (Henri Salvador, Yves Duteil).

Comme pianiste de jazz, il a travaillé avec de très nombreux artistes parmi lesquels : Pepper Adams, Art Farmer, Clark Terry, James Moody, Michel Legrand, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Mark Murphy, Sheila Jordan, Stéphane Grappelli, Toots Thielemans, Gary Bartz, Junior Cook, Frank Wess, Clifford Jordan, Von Freeman, Steve Grossman, Tom Harrell, George Garzone, Ralph Moore, Roy Hargrove.

Olivier a enregistré plus de 80 disques de jazz comme accompagnateur ou arrangeur et 10 sous son nom.

Il pratique également l’enseignement au Centre des Musiques Didier Lockwood (CMDL), et donne des master classes en France, Allemagne, Italie, Chine, Singapour, Malaisie.

Partagé entre le classique et le jazz, Frédéric Eymard achève ses études d'alto sur un prix du Conservatoire Supérieur de Paris. Il se spécialise alors dans le jazz et part aux Etats-Unis, où il se produit sous diverses formations, notamment lors de concerts radiodiffusés à Seattle. Ayant intégré le quintette à cordes de Pierre Blanchard, il est invité au festival des Banlieues Bleues, où il apparaît aux côtés de Ornette Coleman. A enregistré avec Laurent Cugny, Pat Metheny, Charlie Haden, Roy Hardgrove, Lucky Peterson, et Christian McBride, dans le CD d'Abbey Lincoln "A turtle's dream".

Cole Porter
Cole Porter

press to zoom
Oboman
Oboman

press to zoom
Walking woman
Walking woman

press to zoom
Cole Porter
Cole Porter

press to zoom
1/9