ECHOES OF FREEDOM

Oboman: Oboe, English Horn

Johan Renard: Violin

Claude Tchamitchian: Bass

François Merville: Drums

"We never go as far as when we don't know where we're going..."
Christopher Colombus

 

Over 50 years after the release of the album “The Shape of Jazz to Come” by Ornette Coleman, the desire to explore unknown territory remains strong. Jean-Luc “Oboman” Fillon and François Méchali, artists that are rich with numerous musical experiences, draw the contours of a new musical project.
At the crossroads of jazz and improvised music, “Echoes of Freedom” is a project for which the different musical aesthetics brought by each member of the group is the determining factor : classical and contemporary music for some, Indian music, flamenco or Arabic-Andalucían music for others. The Group’s identity is built on a gathering of strong musical personalities, talented improvisers and remarkable leaders. The quartet benefits from an original instrumentation with the duality violin/oboe on the one hand and double bass/ drums on the other. Something in common with Ornette’s quartet : no piano! A real difference: the tandem sax/cornet is replaced by the duet violin/oboe, which are usually, but wrongly, classified as classical instruments… be wary of appearances…


A large part of the repertoire is devoted to improvisation, the celebration of the moment, risk-taking that is essential when looking for authenticity. These improvisations are collective, they leave the way open to emotions, to the musicians stories and origins, to exploring the relationships between the protagonists and the interaction with the audience.

Johan Renard

Johan Renard, a French musician based in Paris, is known for his mastery of the violin, his approach to improvisation, composition and his teaching.
Very early, he finished his classical musical studies and joined the CNSMDP to deepen the art of improvisation with Jean-François Jenny Clark, Daniel Humair, François Jeanneau and Hervé Sellin.
During the Yehudi Menuhin competition, still a student Johan, will present a program where he mixes classical and improvised violin, in the Jury is Stephane Grappelli who will write him a letter where he pushes him to continue on this path and stresses the importance of the quality and the emotion he received when he saw young musicians playing the violin differently, and what's more, his music.
Thereafter within the CNSMDP he will record within the George Russel Orchestra. This meeting will transform her vision towards Jazz and the so-called "classical" harmony, thanks to the chromatic Lydian concept.
With his technique and his knowledge of the violin, Johan Renard is committed to finding himself around the most diverse musicians, and coming from all horizons, for him music is a and indivisible and can not suffer from classification.
He then meets Didier Lockwood who makes him aware of the importance of rhythm and that it is a vector of universality in Music, Didier Lockwood the consider the next generation of jazz violin, and ask him to teach at his school the CMDL. He collaborates with many artists: Emmanuel Bex, Stephan Eicher, Isabelle Olivier, Carine Bonnefoy, Romane, Alex beaupain, Stochelo Rosenberg, Richard Bona, Archie Shepp ...
The importance of improvisation and the freedom of creation led Johan to meet many musicians from around the world. He meets Dr L Subramniam, violin master Indian, with whom he regularly works around carnatic music.

Claude Tchamitchian

Born to an Armenian father and a French mother, 1 Claude Tchamitchian grew up in a family of musicians (his two parents were pianists, his father even having been a pupil of Alfred Cortot). He began as an autodidact, then studied music at the Avignon Conservatory. There he met Rémi Charmasson and André Jaume, with whom he worked in particular in 1988 at the first at the Festival de Sorgues.
Subsequently he multiplies collaborations with French jazz musicians (Stéphan Oliva, Yves Robert, Sylvain Kassap, Gérard Siracusa, Gérard Marais, Jacques Di Donato, Antoine Hervé, René Bottlang, Philippe Deschepper, Jacques Thollot ...) (Jimmy Giuffre, Éric Watson ...).
He is the leader of the Lousadzak, Amarco, Ways Out ensembles and member of Andy Emler's Megabyte and forms with the latter and drummer Éric Échampard the E.T.E. He is also the founder and artistic director of the Émouvance label.

François Merville

After studying classical music at the regional conservatory of Rueil and Paris, he obtained a first prize in percussion and chamber music at the CNSM in Paris in 1992. He then devoted himself to jazz, first alongside David Chevallier, Noël Akchote, Julien Lourau and Bojan Z, then meets Louis Sclavis, of which he will be one of the privileged partners for almost twenty years.
He works and records in many formations including those of Vincent Courtois, Martial Solal, Laurent Dehors, Denis Badault, Jean-Marie Machado, and more recently Denis Colin and Dominique Pifarely. He crosses paths with many musicians such as Michel Portal, Henri Texier, Marc Ducret, Joëlle Léandre, Django Bates or even Dave Douglas.
Also a composer, he trains his own formations as a leader.
In addition to instrumental projects, he regularly works with dance, circus arts, theater and song.

Association n ° 09/41212152 - Siret 434 921 513 000 10 - APE 923 A
Show Producer License 2 n ° 2-1021523 beginning validity 13/12/2008
President of the association: Mr. Bruno Magri
Headquarters: 171, route de Marolles - 78670 Villennes / Seine

Writing: Webmaster
Translation: Rachel Hirel
For all suggestions, information, reactions concerning this site, write to: adlib@jeanlucfillon.com For all the texts and works presented on this site: Copyright Ad Lib Production 2020 All copyright of works reserved. Unless express prior written authorization, the reproduction and any use of the works other than individual and private consultation is prohibited. Any request for authorization for any use whatsoever must be sent to: adlib@jeanlucfillon.com

Photo credits: Michèle Belletti / Malik Chaïb / Armand Luciani / Lusimagem.com / Patrick Audoux / Alain d'Ortoli

Video credits: Guy Cosson / Jean-Yves Legrand / Pirouette Film / Eddy Woj

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Gris Icône Deezer
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Gris SoundCloud Icône
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

ECHOES OF FREEDOM

Oboman : Hautbois, Cor Anglais

Johan Renard : Violon

Claude Tchamitchian : Contrebasse

François Merville : Batterie

« On ne va jamais aussi loin que lorsqu’on ne sait pas où on va… »

Christophe Colomb

Plus de 50 ans après la sortie de l’album « The Shape of Jazz to Come » d’Ornette Coleman, l’envie d’explorer des territoires inconnus reste forte.


A la croisée du jazz et des musiques improvisées, « Echoes of Freedom » est un projet pour lequel l’apport d’autres esthétiques musicales par chaque membre du groupe est déterminant : la musique classique et contemporaine pour certains, la musique indienne, le flamenco ou la musique Arabo-Andalouse pour d’autres. L’identité du groupe est bâtie sur le rassemblement de fortes personnalités musicales, improvisateurs de talent et par ailleurs leaders remarqués.


Le 4tet est doté d’une instrumentation originale et inédite avec la dualité violon/hautbois d’une part et contrebasse/batterie d’autre part. Un point commun avec le 4tet d’Ornette : pas de piano ! Une vraie différence : on substitue au tandem sax/cornet, le duo violon/hautbois, que l’on aurait, à tort, tendance à ranger dans la musique classique… méfions-nous des apparences…


Une large part du répertoire est consacrée à l’improvisation, à la célébration de l’instant, la mise en danger nécessaire à la recherche de l’authenticité. Ces improvisations sont collectives, elles laissent libre cours aux émotions, aux histoires et origines des musiciens, à l’exploration relationnelle entre les protagonistes et l’interaction avec les auditeurs.

Johan Renard

Johan Renard, musicien français basé a Paris, est connu pour sa maîtrise du violon, son approche de l’improvisation, de la composition et son enseignement .
Très tôt, il termine ses études musicales classiques et intègre le CNSMDP pour approfondir l’art de l’improvisation auprès de Jean-François Jenny Clark, Daniel Humair, François Jeanneau et Hervé Sellin.
Lors du concours Yehudi Menuhin, encore étudiant Johan présentera un programme où il mélange le classique et le violon improvisé, dans le Jury se trouve Stephane Grappelli qui lui écrira une lettre où il le pousse a continuer dans cette voie et lui souligne l’importance de la qualité et l’émotion qu’il a reçue en voyant de jeunes musiciens jouer le violon autrement, et qui plus est sa musique .
Par la suite au sein du CNSMDP il enregistrera au sein du George Russel Orchestra. Cette rencontre lui transformera sa vision envers le Jazz et l’harmonie dite « Classique », grâce au concept Lydien chromatique .
Avec sa technique et sa connaissance du violon, Johan Renard s’engage à se retrouver autour de musiciens les plus divers, et venant de tous Horizons, pour lui la musique est une et indivisible et ne peu souffrir de classification. Il rencontre par la suite Didier Lockwood qui lui fait prendre conscience de l’importance du rythme et que celui-ci est un vecteur d’universalité dans la Musique, Didier Lockwood le considère comme la relève du violon jazz, et lui demande d’enseigner au sein de son école le CMDL
Il collabore avec de nombreux artistes: Emmanuel Bex, Stephan Eicher, Isabelle Olivier, Carine Bonnefoy, Romane, Alex beaupain, Stochelo Rosenberg, Richard Bona, Archie Shepp...
L’importance de l’improvisation et la liberté de création ont amené Johan à rencontrer de nombreux musiciens du monde entier. Il rencontre Dr L Subramniam, maÎtre du violon Indien, avec qui il travaille régulièrement autour de la musique carnatique.

Claude Tchamitchian

Né d'un père arménien et d'une mère française, Claude Tchamitchian grandit dans une famille de musiciens (ses deux parents étaient pianistes, son père ayant même été l'élève d'Alfred Cortot). Il commence en autodidacte puis suit des études de musique au conservatoire d'Avignon. Il y fait la connaissance de Rémi Charmasson et André Jaume, avec qui il collaborera notamment en 1988 au premier au Festival de Sorgues.
Par la suite il multiplie les collaborations avec des musiciens français de jazz (Stéphan Oliva, Yves Robert, Sylvain Kassap, Gérard Siracusa, Gérard Marais, Jacques Di Donato, Antoine Hervé, René Bottlang, Philippe Deschepper, Jacques Thollot...) ou américain (Jimmy Giuffre, Éric Watson...).
Il est le leader des ensembles Lousadzak, Amarco, Ways Out et membre du Megaoctet d'Andy Emler et forme avec ce dernier et le batteur Éric Échampard le trio E.T.E. Il est par ailleurs le fondateur et directeur artistique du label Émouvance.

François Merville

Après des études de musique classique au conservatoire régional de Rueil et de Paris, il obtient  un premier prix de percussion et de musique de chambre au CNSM de Paris en 1992. Il se consacre ensuite au jazz, d’abord aux côtés de David Chevallier, Noël Akchote, Julien Lourau et Bojan Z, puis rencontre Louis Sclavis dont il sera l’un des partenaires privilégiés pendant presque vingt ans.
Il travaille et enregistre dans de nombreuses formations dont celles de Vincent Courtois, Martial Solal, Laurent Dehors, Denis Badault, Jean-Marie Machado, et plus récemment Denis Colin et Dominique Pifarely. Il croise la route de nombreux musiciens tels que Michel Portal, Henri Texier, Marc Ducret, Joëlle Léandre, Django Bates ou encore Dave Douglas.
Egalement compositeur, il forme en tant que leader ses propres formations.
Parallèlement aux projets instrumentaux, il travaille régulièrement avec la danse, les arts du cirque, le théâtre ou la chanson.

Association n° 09/41212152 - Siret 434 921 513 000 10 - APE 923 A
Licence 2 de Producteur de Spectacles n° 2-1021523 début validité 13/12/2008
Président de l'association : M. Bruno Magri
Siège social : 171, route de Marolles - 78670 Villennes/Seine

Rédaction : Webmaster
Traduction : Rachel Hirel
Pour toutes suggestions, informations, réactions concernant ce site, écrivez à : adlib@jeanlucfillon.com Pour tous les textes et œuvres présentés sur ce site : Copyright Ad Lib Production 2020 Tous droits d'auteur des œuvres réservés. Sauf autorisation formelle écrite et préalable, la reproduction ainsi que toute utilisation des œuvres autres que la consultation individuelle et privée est interdite. Toute demande d'autorisation pour quelque utilisation que ce soit doit être adressée à : adlib@jeanlucfillon.com

Crédits photo : Michèle Belletti / Malik Chaïb / Armand Luciani / Lusimagem.com / Patrick Audoux / Alain d'Ortoli

Crédits vidéo : Guy Cosson / Jean-Yves Legrand / Pirouette Film / Eddy Woj

  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Gris Icône Deezer
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Gris SoundCloud Icône
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon